Scratching a Seven-Year Itch

This is going to be a rather simplistic analysis β€” my favorite kind πŸ˜‰ .

On this the seventh anniversary of the terrorist attacks of “September the 11th”, as the current White House occupant irritatingly calls it, I’m posting about a question that has nagged at me almost the entire seven years: Were the Twin Tower collapses β€” not to mention the collapse of Building 7 β€” really controlled demolitions?

For a long time I was nearly convinced, from viewing online media like Loose Change Final Cut, that they were controlled demolitions. Then I read the relevant part of Debunking911.com and I began to think I’d been rather silly to even consider the possibility of controlled demolitions.

And yet … and yet β€” in seeking reality sometimes one has to believe their own eyes.

My eyes look at video of the towers falling and they don’t see any evidence of pancaking. Shouldn’t a top-to-bottom progression be visible? I just don’t see it. Does it happen too fast to be visible? Is the video really an autostereogram like the picture above and am I, like Mr. Pitt on Seinfeld, failing to see the hidden image?

What I do see is that the building literally turns to dust β€” it disintegrates β€” in a couple blinks of an eye. Would pancaking really be so orderly that the towers would fall straight down into their own footprints like they did? Wouldn’t pancaking take longer than the collapse took?

Unfortunately, I expect this question will haunt me forever. The truth probably will never come out. I’ll bet I could do nothing but read explanations on both sides online for weeks and still not feel any closer to the truth.

Now consider this anecdote from a 2007 Washington Post series on Dick Cheney about his reaction to the fall of the south tower, the first to go down. I wish this anecdote had gotten more notice. The image described here is etched indelibly in my memory, I’ll tell you that.

“In a bunker beneath the East Wing of the White House, Cheney locked his eyes on CNN, chin resting on interlaced fingers. He was about to watch, in real time, as thousands were killed on Sept. 11, 2001.

Previous accounts have described Cheney’s adrenaline-charged evacuation to the Presidential Emergency Operations Center that morning, a Secret Service agent on each arm. They have not detailed his reaction, 22 minutes later, when the south tower of the World Trade Center collapsed.

‘There was a groan in the room that I won’t forget, ever,’ one witness said. ‘It seemed like one groan from everyone’ — among them Rice; her deputy, Stephen J. Hadley; economic adviser Lawrence B. Lindsey; counselor Matalin; Cheney’s chief of staff, Libby; and the vice president’s wife.

Cheney made no sound. ‘I remember turning my head and looking at the vice president, and his expression never changed,’ said the witness, reading from a notebook of observations written that day. Cheney closed his eyes against the image for one long, slow blink.

Three people who were present, not all of them admirers, said they saw no sign then or later of the profound psychological transformation that has often been imputed to Cheney. What they saw, they said, was extraordinary self-containment and a rapid shift of focus to the machinery of power. While others assessed casualties and the work of ‘first responders,’ Cheney began planning for a conflict that would call upon lawyers as often as soldiers and spies.” [emphasis mine]

How could anyone, even Cheney, a stone-hearted psychopath with so much to gain from the attacks, see the towers fall and not even emit a gasp? Did he expect the towers to fall? Was he really happy about it and concentrating on masking that emotion?

Luke O’Brien blogged about this anecdote for Wired. The comments on O’Brien’s post, most of which are dismissive of his premise, are interesting. This one in particular, by Marc Star on June 27, 2007, resonates with me because it repeats and expands upon points I made above:

I am embarrassed to be an American these days.

WAKE UP!!

Explosives were used to bring down the Twin Towers. Watch them fall and if you see a building pancaking down on itself from weakened steel, then you are simply blind. Watch it again. The buildings are being blown to dust before your very eyes, yet we are all so caught up in the ruse that “It can’t happen here!! It can’t happen in America!!”

Lies. [emphasis mine]

Have Americans been the victim of a ruse? Is the average American suffering from delusion as a result of lies propagated by our government and aided and abetted by traditional media conglomerates that just happen to hold equity interests in the military-industrial complex? Even though poll findings indicate many people have doubts about the “official story” of 9/11, do too few join the ranks of 9/11 “truthers” because traditional media has successfully branded truthers as a fringe movement? Scary thoughts.

And, by the way, the fall of the towers is just one of many fishy aspects of 9/11. Recall how George Bush resisted the formation of the 9/11 Commission? He resisted until he could be sure the commission’s report would be a whitewash β€” and it was.

So for the time being I’ll remain on the fringe and continue to hold on to my skepticism about the common “wisdom” concerning the towers. It’s interesting to consider how history might have been different if the towers had been struck but not fallen. Months ago I started a post on this; eventually I hope to complete it.

Don’t kid yourself. It could happen here. I just wish we knew whether it already did.

RSS feed for comments on this post

2 comments so far

  1. lanaleeper on

    Very diplomatic- at least in comparison with my rant. Just like everything in the history of this country, if we give it 50 years the truth will come to light. This was a personal vendetta of little Bush. He wanted an excuse to go mess with Saddam and take over the sand box and this gave it to him. We just didn’t see it at the time. And all the while bin Laden lives on.

  2. QC on

    @lanaleeper:
    Thanks. Well let’s see … in 50 years I’ll be 101. If I’m still around, I hope I’m in sufficient possession of my faculties to appreciate the news.

    QC readers, here’s a link to lana’s rant.


Leave a Reply

