Hypothetical, Terribly Trivial Proposition

Woody Allen did marvelous standup comedy during the years 1964-1968. That work first appeared on three LPs and those LPs were later combined into a great double LP set, which I bought at the old W.T. Grant discount store. I’d think about writing a separate post about the Wood Man’s standup because of the many hours of enjoyment it has given me. but it seems Will Dixon has already written it for me.

One of the my favorite routines comes at the very end of the album:

In summing up, I wish I had some kind of affirmative message to leave you with. I don’t. Would you take two negative messages?

My mother used to say to me when I was younger, “If a strange man comes up to you, and offers you candy, and wants you to get into the back of his car with him … go”.

I’ve used that last line on my sons when I’ve been in especially irreverent moods.

But this post, despite all evidence to the contrary, isn’t about Woody Allen.

What if in say 1975, that same strange man were to have come up to you and offered you a betting proposition — instead of candy and a ride. Say he wanted, for stakes of your choosing, the side of a bet that predicted in your lifetime the most commonly read and written/typed four-letter sequence would be “http“.

If you were a gambler, what might you have bet against that happening? Unless you had amazing predictive powers, you might have bet practically anything, huh? And you would have lost. You might have been better off taking the candy and the ride.

RSS feed for comments on this post

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

