Unappetizing Irony — Layoff Edition

The phrase “delicious irony”, while not a cliché, is overused in this medium. So I won’t use it … again. I will, however, riff off it: What follows is a rather unappetizing piece of irony.

As I sat here earlier today in my quiet corner of the office minding my own business “to a fare-thee-well” as the late hockey announcer Gene Hart was fond of saying, word reached me that 28 of my colleagues were laid off today — on top of the 20 laid off last fall. One of those laid off today has worked here for 12 years and lives in my neighborhood. His work will be outsourced to India. We’re not friends, but our politics are similar, and we have chatted about that subject from time to time. Nice guy. I didn’t have much occasion to work directly with him, but from all accounts he was a dedicated employee. I feel bad for him.

Here’s the ironic part: The last time we talked he told me how he went to the Hillary Clinton campaign event in West Chester, PA, April 19, and by luck got a chance to talk to the candidate for a half-minute or so.

He asked Clinton what she intends to do about …

iron

… the outsourcing of US jobs overseas.

See … I told you it was unappetizing.

While I’m on the subject of Hillary Clinton, there is a story linked on one of the more infamous “fringe media” sites that claims Barack Obama has a homosexual relationship with none other than Reverend Jeremiah Wright. The source is a Pastor James David Manning. There is audio and video, neither of which I have consumed as yet.

If this story gains any traction in the mainstream media, Obama’s candidacy could be in big trouble. I don’t see it happening. But, on the other hand, I said as recently as April 18 that on the Democratic side, Clinton is the establishment candidate. The implication was I would not be surprised if Clinton were to somehow become the nominee. After the Indiana and North Carolina results came in, I started to dismiss her chances. Really, though, all it would take to put her back in the game is for the mainstream media to plant the question of Obama’s sexual preference into the minds of Joe Sixpack — and the superdelegates.

As if there wasn’t already enough to worry about …

RSS feed for comments on this post

3 comments so far

  1. gina on

    This is disturbing on a couple of fronts. One obvious question… is your job in danger?

    And, this leg of the campaign is always the worst.. a game of ‘how low can you go’.. even when the allegations are obviously ridiculous, no one comes out unscathed.

  2. QC on

    @gina:
    I don’t think my job is in danger, but the trend toward overseas outsourcing is unmistakable, both here and in the IT industry in general, so I need to stay on my toes. I appreciate your concern.

    About the Obama allegations: I’ve now watched the Manning video, and I don’t ascribe any credibility to it at all. It’s like a bad SNL skit. At 5 1/2 minutes, it may be worth watching for the humor value.

    Furthermore, I displayed bad blogger judgment in linking to the Manning video and the Jeff Rense interview with Manning without consuming them first. As a result, QC is getting some incoming traffic from ViralVideoChart.com http://www.viralvideochart.com/youtube/the_trinity_of_hell?id=ejTmistHFw0, which has linked to QC, along with about 30 other blogs, many of which I suspect are “blogs of ill repute”, which have recently linked to the Manning video. I was in a hurry to get a post up, and I’ll not make that mistake again.

    All that said, your point about ridiculous allegations is well taken. If Manning is an establishment/Clinton/GOP plant, they’re going to have to do better than that to discredit Obama. And you can bet they’ll try.

  3. Plunker on

    Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Plunker!!


Leave a Reply

